A New Chapter

I am 40 years old and I finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up: a helper.  Fred Rogers’ mother wisely once told him, when you see scary things in the news, “look for the helpers.  You will always find people who are helping.”  From this self revelation, The Bag Project was created.

Children do not get to pick the family or situation they are born into; the lottery of birth can often be cruel.  It is for these children who must look to strangers for charity that I have begun my new chapter.  The Bag Project seeks to provide every child in crisis with a high-quality, age-appropriate bag filled with basic necessities and comfort items which they may not otherwise receive.  Clearly children’s needs go far beyond what can fit in a bag, but The Bag Project bag is a start.  It shows them that they matter, that someone cares.  Now they have a few items of their own and a bag in which to put them.

I hope you will join me and many others in making a tangible difference in the lives of children.

Leave a comment